Sunday, December 21, 2014

Follow us:
Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Subscribe to this news feed 



Primary Day in New York

  • Text size: + -
CNY/NNY/S. Tier: Primary Day in New York
Play now

Time Warner Cable video customers:
Sign in with your TWC ID to access our video clips.

  To view our videos, you need to
enable JavaScript. Learn how.
install Adobe Flash 9 or above. Install now.

Then come back here and refresh the page.

It's Primary Day in New York. Many voters will head to the polls today. There are a handful of races across our region, including three Congressional races and one statewide Senate race. Our Iris St. Meran has more on what the voter turnout is expected to be.

NEW YORK -- Onondaga County Board of Elections Commissioner Ed Ryan doesn't expect turnout to be good at all in Onondaga County, at least. In fact, he says he expects a record low turnout at the polls, which open at noon. The same is true in Broome County, according to their Elections Commissioner.

The statewide race is for a Republican candidate for U.S. Senate. Three people are on the ballot: Wendy Long, Bob Turner, and George Maragos.

There are three Congressional races in our region. In the 21st Congressional district, Kellie Greene and Matthew Doheny are vying for the Republican ticket.

The 22nd district is also a Republican primary in the Congressional race. On the ballot are incumbent Richard Hanna and Michael Kicinski.

Last but not least, the 23rd district has three people vying for the Democratic ticket. They include Nate Shinagawa, Melissa Dobson, and Leslie Danks Burke.

Despite the expected low turnout in Onondaga County, the commissioner says he still has to staff each polling district as though large volumes of people were coming out to ensure everything is fair.

"The rules and regulations of the state of New York indicate, that there has to be bi-partisan people and because it's a long day, you have to have two Democrats, two Republicans at each site whether we have 100,000 people turn out or 3,000," said Ryan.

Polls will be open from 12 p.m. to 9 p.m. If you have questions about where to vote or what district you fall in, contact your local Board of Elections office. ClientIP:, UserAgent: CCBot/2.0 ( Profile: TWCSAMLSP